

Contact: Charis Tyson

Phone: (941) 952-9293 e-mail: CTyson@FloridaPoolPro.com

2555 Porter Lake Drive, Suite 106, Sarasota, FL 34240

For Immediate Release June 8, 2009

The 2009 recipients of the Florida Swimming Pool Association Merit Scholarship have been announced. To qualify, applicants must be dependents of owners or employees of FSPA member companies. Transcripts, letters of recommendation, SAT / ACT scores and a research paper are required with each application.

For the 2009-2010 academic year 18 students are receiving \$19,250. The funds awarded to each student range from \$400 to \$2,000. The scholarships are given out based on academic accomplishment, extra curricular activities, contributions to the community and a research paper on a pool industry related topic. The recipients are Melissa Adams, Lakeland; Destyn Bailey, Moore Haven; Traci Bludsworth, Orlando; Eduard Bogel, Palm Harbor; Eric Bogel, Palm Harbor; Candace Braun, Palm Harbor; Samuel Burns, Ocoee; Benjamin Crayton, Tampa; Jessica Hackl, West Palm Beach; Tristan Hensley, Melbourne; Ashley Malagian, Orlando; Matthew McKenna, Valrico; Michael O'Rourke, Winter Springs; David Reed, Brandon; Krista Reed, Brandon; Adam Roth, Orlando; Joshua Roth, Orlando; and Scott Segro, Englewood.

The Florida Swimming Pool Association is a trade association for the pool and spa industry in Florida. There are approximately 600 member businesses in 16 Chapters across the state. Members are required to abide by a code of ethics and to be properly licensed and insured. FSPA provides the industry with access to continuing education courses, information on current trends and issues, an arbitration program and government relations representation. FSPA is governed by a Board of Directors.